Lessons And Values Start At Home

 

The American Elections have consumed my life for a few weeks. Today, it consumed my whole day. I must have refreshed my Twitter feed every 5 minutes (or less). And now, the American people have spoken, and they’ve said they want Trump as their leader.

It doesn’t matter who I support, nor does my opinion on either candidate, actually matters. When Trump won, I saw the panic that many Hillary supporters are experiencing.

People are saying:

“Donald Trump didn’t win today. Hate won. Fear won. Racism won. Sexism won. Homophobia won. Prejudice won. Self interest won.”

“How do I explain to my children that it’s ok to be a sexist and a bigot?”

“How do I look into my daughter’s eyes and tell her that it’s ok to be talked down to, to be regarded as a sex object?”

“It’s hard to feel sorry for women who voted for Trump and find themselves getting groped on the daily.”

“America went from electing a black president to electing a racist one. This is truly disappointing.”

The list of doubt and fear go on and on and on.

The questions and opinions against Trump’s personality has now become a huge focus on how the world is going to be in the future – How we are going to explain to our children what kind of person has just been elected as the new POTUS.

Where do we go from here, as individuals of the human race? What do we do from now on?

Trump may be the new American leader, but it doesn’t mean it should ever change who YOU are.

Before Trump – Racists, homophobes, bigots and sexists already exist. They’ve been here from the beginning of time. These people can be Republicans, and they can be Democrats. Just because Trump has been elected, it doesn’t mean these people will suddenly come out of their holes. They’ve ALWAYS been here. We have all come across these individuals from time to time. And they’d still be here even if Clinton was elected. If a female president had been elected, it will not make serial rapists change their ways. It will not make homophobes start hugging gays. People don’t suddenly change their views just because there is a new leader. Will it justify their views? Maybe. But they have always been the same, no matter what.

But we, as human beings, are becoming smarter and stronger. We all can have a voice if we choose to shout it out. This is what’s happened today. The people have spoken. Right or wrong, the results are clear. People now have access to more information, they have a bigger voice and will now fight for their cause, whatever their cause is.

So I ask myself what happens now? I say it should always start… At home.

Teach your children and your grandchildren, not to be sexists. Teach them respect for each other. Teach them that they are responsible for their actions. And those actions – are for the greater good. However, don’t take shit from someone else. Stand up for yourself. Don’t let anyone put you down or tell you that you don’t belong here. Also, don’t be an asshole. Be a good person.

These things need to be taught AT HOME first. They need to live and breathe – care, compassion and respect for their fellow human being, whatever the colour, gender and sexual orientation. Teach them, that if they can, they have to work for what they want. They have to work to achieve the things they want it life. And when the time comes, they’ll know what’s right and what’s wrong.

I’m a nobody. I just write the occasional blog, I work part time, and spend the rest of my time with my family. What I say will not affect Americans nor will it affect the world. All I know is, whatever I teach MY children, will affect the way they think, and the way they act. My children, are MY responsibility. Hopefully, it will shape them into pretty decent human beings. And so I choose wisely, the values that I want instilled into them.

Do not use Trump’s win as a means to question how you would parent your child. YOU parent your child, not Trump.

 

 

Image credit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment

  1. I completely agree with what you’ve said. However, I’ve seen firsthand how the brexit vote in the U.K. made racist attacks/abuse increase because people thought that it was now socially acceptable to be more open about their own racist views. I sincerely hope this doesn’t happen in America.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

