Please Don’t Make Your Babies “Cry It Out”

Photo source

I’m not a doctor. I’m not a parenting expert or guru either. I just know I couldn’t and wouldn’t let my child “Cry It Out”. I know I’ve got science like this to back me up on why I don’t do it but I’ll just give you my own reasons. And I do have 4 children of my own, so I kinda know what I’m talking about. 

Here’s a scenario: If you saw your friend sitting in a corner crying her heart out, what would you do? Would you rush over to her and comfort her? Or would you tell her to “cry it out” for 10 minutes until she calms down, then go to her? 

I’d like to think you’d go up to your friend straightaway, ask her what’s wrong, listen to her and then give her a big comforting hug. I know that would be MY instant reaction. Otherwise you’re a shitty friend, and you don’t deserve her friendship. 

So why wouldn’t we do that for our own babies? Why do some parents think it’s ok to let their little babies cry alone in their rooms, with no comfort at all and make them feel so frightened, unsafe and insecure? So they can “toughen up”? Just so they can learn to sleep through the night? 

Pffffft. 

I hate to break this to you but the minute you signed up to be a parent, surely you gotta know this: You ain’t gonna get any sleep, my friend.  

Little (and big) children depend on their parents to give them love, care and to be nurtured unconditionally. You can’t give them cuddles and kisses and tell them that you love them all day long, then turn around and let them cry all night! IT’S DARK AND THERE MIGHT BE MONSTERS IN THEIR BEDROOMS! Haven’t you guys watched Monsters Inc.? That movie is PROOF that there’s monsters in their rooms!

Parents… Don’t let your kids “Cry It Out”… It’s a real shitty thing to do to your innocent little children, this is the age where YOU are meant to give them SECURITY. They DEPEND on you. YOU are the ONLY ones who can make them feel safe. 

When they cry at night, go pick them up. Hold them in your arms. Comfort them. Kiss their little foreheads. Or let them sleep in your room. Our two younger ones still do. 

Please, please make them feel safe. It’s the right thing to do. You wouldn’t do that to a friend, so don’t do that to your baby. 

And here’s my blog about co-sleeping. 

2 Comments

  1. I agree and chuck that well known sleep training book in the bin. You need to respond to your child’s need and no two children are the same.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

